F4 Thailand: Episode 3 Recap

So our last episode was called The Second Impact. I ought to have drawn attention to this because I really like it! The first impact (that kick) redefines Gorya and Thyme’s relationship, from bully and victim to equal adversaries. The next impact (that kiss) redefines their relationship again. It’s fair to say that they’re definitely not adversaries anymore. In the wake of the kiss, feelings are bubbling up everywhere. Gorya is reaching a crossroads when it comes to Ren, who is in turmoil after discovering that Mira plans on moving to France for good. Should she follow her heart, or help him to follow his? Meanwhile, Thyme is busy processing the fact that he’s totally fallen for Gorya, and trying to figure out how he can show it.

Since this is Ren’s episode, let’s talk about him first. Last week I let loose my assessment of him – as a selfish asshole that doesn’t deserve to be treated as ‘the nice guy’ – and I stand by this. His apathy and his passivity are infuriating and I hate watching every iteration of our heroine treat him like her hero for doing less than the bare minimum. It’s worth noting, however, that I’m always bringing my expectations from other adaptations of this story. I can’t help but compare!

Sometimes that gets in the way with iconic characters. We all know that Don Juan is a legendary seducer, but not every Don Juan is the same. Tirso de Molina’s was mischievous, Moliere’s was philosophical, Mozart’s was dark. Sometimes it’s reductive to put them under one banner. The same applies here; none of these characters can be entirely held to the standards of their predecessors, but we can still learn a lot (and have a lot of fun) in measuring the differences. When viewed in isolation, I say that F4 Thailand‘s Ren is a limp noodle and I can’t fathom why the amazing Gorya likes him, but when I bring in my knowledge of five other iterations of the character, I start to see the other side of him, and feel optimistic about the future of his character arc.

Hanazawa Rui is a child-like figure. He is the mirror image of Tsukasa – they are both starved of love, but where one lashes out because of it, the other has withdrawn inside himself. This recontextualises his self-absorption. Ren’s single-minded fixation on Mira is not indicative of a bad character, but of him having a rich inner world where there is only space for the things he loves. These shows have tried to communicate this in a variety of ways. Every Hanazawa Rui is sentimental and artistic, but always in different ways – most iconically, Boys Over Flowers‘ Ji-hoo would play a melancholy violin, a thing I hope is subject to parody forever, like in this brilliant meta scene in Extraordinary You.

Ren, meanwhile, draws. This is a clever outlet for him, it’s immediately more intimate and personal. I like what this says about the fact that he took Gorya as a subject in episode one – the only other person we’ve seen him sketch is Mira, so isn’t that indicative of how much of an impression Gorya has made on him? I’m curious to what the show will do next to try and communicate that Ren deserves my attention. All that the Hanazawa Rui character needs to do is break my heart. So go on, Ren, break my heart. I dare you.

For now, I’m very happy that I got what I wanted. I hoped the show would acknowledge Ren for his faults, and if his confrontation with Gorya wasn’t that, I don’t know what is. Ren snaps at her for trying to convince Mira to stay for him. “Did I ask you to do that?” he says, “Have you thought about her feelings?” So far, this is familiar territory to a fan of this franchise – our second lead is so wrapped up in the noble act of letting go that he fails to see how much he’s hurting himself and everyone that loves him in the process. But the crucial change is that Gorya doesn’t just take this abuse silently, thereby implying that his attack is justified:

“Mira… she’s awesome. She fights with all her might for what she believes in. But look at you! You keep saying that’s how the world works – you tell yourself to get over it, but you haven’t done anything to fight for her! Even though I haven’t made a difference, I’m relieved that at least I’ve done something! Because it matters to me, Ren!”

Yes, Gorya, drag him.

I see this as a glass-shattering moment – Gorya still cares about this boy, but she sees him for who he actually is now. Every other iteration of our heroine just accepted all his verbal abuse and ran away upset at this moment, so I felt gratified to see Gorya call him out instead. This show just keeps finding ways to make me love her more.

This is the first episode that sells me on the friendships between the F4. Before now, there was nothing but tension between them; a feeling that the three of them walked on eggshells around Thyme, a feeling that they were only friends because they always had been. This episode first introduced all the playful ribbing so characteristic of their relationships. M.J. and Win teasing Thyme is very important because it brings Thyme down to earth. The way I see it, we’ve been looking at F4 through Gorya’s eyes all this time – they used to suck all the air out of the room, goliaths that she had to somehow overcome, but that kiss was a transformative moment. Now we see Thyme, and the other three, for what they are: Just some stupid boys.

I’ve always found it very interesting that Tsukasa is arguably closest to Rui out of the three other F4 boys. Akira and Soujirou’s closeness makes sense (they’re both care-free fuckboys), but from personality to interests, Tsukasa and Rui couldn’t be more different. I love what F4 Thailand says about that with their airport reconciliation. It really doesn’t matter that they have nothing in common but their history. They love each other, and it’s the most natural thing in the world. That’s the thing about family and lifelong friends – people will grow in different directions, but their bonds can always be sustained with enough love.

Since Mira is leaving us now, and I don’t see us really having a chance to talk about her again, I’ll say a few words about her character. The idea that Mira (aka Shizuka, since this observation extends to all iterations of the franchise) is such a massive part of the F4’s lives – almost a fifth member – but she has no bearing on anyone but Ren, and is essentially absent from the rest of the story, baffles me. This stings because she’s characterised so well, she doesn’t feel like a throwaway character! Here, she’s first introduced as Gorya’s role model, a woman with the kind of agency and confidence that Gorya aspires to have. When we actually meet her, we see that somehow she’s even better than we could have imagined – it’s a little sad that subverting the expectation for female rivalry is still as shocking today as it was in the 90s, but there you go. What, you thought that Gorya was going to fight Mira for Ren’s affections? Pffft, no, these women like each other so much that they both yield him to the other! In a story with so many female rivalries, it’s such a shame that a character like this is essentially reduced to a plot device. Despite the fact we now have Tia to fill her role as Gorya’s awesome big sister, Mira will be missed.

But like they said, it’s time to move on, and with the sadsack out of the way, Gorya can now move on to better, brighter things. Why stand in the rain, looking at a boy who won’t come to you, when you could stand in the rain and look at the boy who waited?

13 thoughts on “F4 Thailand: Episode 3 Recap

  1. tsmryuuka

    Hello again! I’m having a breakfast here and got super excited all of sudden after the notification from your blog popped out on my screen! Hehehe.

    Direct to the main discussion here, once again, I couldn’t agree more with your statement above! Hehe. Even though some people might see the pace of this version is too rushed, but personally for me, it just sits right because on the previous episode, all we can see is the boys from Gorya’s POV while here, we can see them being bunch of teenagers who enjoy teasing their friends about ‘sparks’ of 1st loveπŸ˜†

    And of course about Ren! Ehehe. I couldn’t claim myself giving his character an objective view because I’m not gonna lie, I’m pretty much can ‘vibe’ with Ren’s character, hehe peace! If I can point out my favorite scene of him is how Gorya bravely confronted him right after him being mad at her and shoved her twice. Some people might see it as a red flag, and of course, I myself couldn’t understand much why he did that but after taking some minutes thinking, all of his actions there is unbelieveably reasonable. Knowing that he thinks, he couldn’t do much more for Mira to stay, he should accept the way it is, and his thought about ‘life is about accepting things and move on’-a lot of thoughts must be bottled up inside him, and Gorya unintentionally triggered it. And, my favorite part! Finally, we can see Gorya fought back, and stood up her stance and made Ren realise, he is done wrong, and not just backed off and cried like other versions. I have so much to say actually, but you wrapped up all of my thoughts about Ren’s character at once including my hope and excitement of how the arc of him in the future will be unfolded, very nicely! Thanks for that^^

    And, the iconic airport scene! They did it beautifully! Of course, theres always a room to grow for their acting and a slightly different from hanadan (the iconic apple, hehe) but, personally, I’m pretty much satisfied with it because they can sums up their precious friendship without much of flashback scenes like other version did (BBF, 2009).

    Hehe, and here I am, writing long paragraphs again because of excitements! Hehe. And with much respect, I’ll wait for your next review for the next upcoming episodes and I’m so ready to enjoy the ride of this series with the perfect depth explanation on each episode from your perspective! Thankyou so much, stay healthy, and see ya!☺

    Liked by 2 people

  2. dearbwbkpp

    Always so insightful! Many think that Ren pushing Gorya is antithetical to the whole Hanazawa Rui character, but we have the same thoughts. I see this as Ren being more fleshed out. He’s not the prince charming and he’s not different from anybody else. The push was the catalyst for Gorya to call him out and it was done well! I’m so satisfied with the changes they’re doing in this version.

    P.S. I posted a screenshot and the link of your EP1 review on twitter and the show’s director saw & liked the tweet 😊

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Hello! I came accross your review and I’m so happy to find fellow Hana Yori Dango fans and Jdrama watcher that review F4 Thailand. Your review gives me a bit of hope that I can enjoy F4T more cuz I really like first 2 eps of F4T, but ep 3 a bit of a letdown for me. I think I just expected too much..

    I don’t think it’s not good, it just the direction F4T take isn’t exactly to my liking. I think what off me the most is Thyme characterization. Tsukasa as we know is a huge TSUNDERE and Thyme isn’t so much. Tsukasa isn’t just childlish, he is child-like, that’s why he is so pure in his conviction. Tsukasa never know what he did was wrong all along (before Tsukushi gives him self-awareness). Tsukasa is a complex character in which he is just a deeply scared, lonely boy wearing a tiger mask. For Thyme, he isn’t that much of tsundere or that much child-like. He is childlish, but he knows his surrounding. He is aware he need to step up and grow up, but he feels stuck of some sort? Thyme wants and aware he need to be the heir, hence he tried to take control of school etc. This Thyme characterization worries me, he may can’t be as fearless (and crazy) as Tsukasa.

    Another thing that off me is the message that conveyed in F4T. Most of the time it’s about changing for greater good. While I think it’s a good message but it’s maybe too chessy or just isn’t my preference. I just think Gorya changing F4 isn’t really do it for me. For me, one of the things what makes Hana Yori Dango so endearing is because how it deffy all socioeconomis status and see people as people. Makino never change F4, we see thru Makino eyes that F4 isn’t so bad afterall. Ofcourse all F4 change, but Makino never tried to change them, they all just grow up. Hence the title Hana Yori Dango, we see past glamorous F4 and see them as people. We don’t need to change people or change us, we just need to accept them as people.

    I swear it’s not that I want F4T to be exactly the same as Hana Yori Dango, but it just that I wish they keep this core of HanaDan… Also i notice your profile pic is Nakatsu 🀣

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Aya, nice to meet you!
      I talked a little bit in this post about how different iterations of an iconic character only need to stay true to that character’s core – I love the Hanadan version of Tsukasa too, he’s still my favourite, but I like what they’re doing with Thyme. I think they have captured the core of the character (a boy starved of love and angry at the world) pretty well. While I love that the story follows the same narrative beats as Hana Yori Dango, I appreciate that it isn’t trying to be a carbon copy and has things to say in its own right. Someone on Twitter was saying (I need to find them so I can give them credit πŸ˜†) that the message of F4 Thailand is to do what’s right, and the message of Hanadan is to be true of yourself, and I think that summarises it perfectly!
      I’m sorry you’re dissatisfied with this version of the story, but I’m very happy with it πŸ˜†
      And yes, my profile picture is Nakatsu, hahaha! Hana Kimi is the ultimate comfort drama, and I will love Nakatsu until I die πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, I do still enjoy it, maybe I’m just a bit underwhelmed cuz I thought they gonna convey that message of being true to yourself (I personally really like that). I think that tweet you meant is probably my tweet cuz indeed I tweet about it too πŸ˜‚ and looking back at that tweet, I see you like my tweet, so maybe it’s my tweet you meant 🀣

        Now after thinking it for awhile, doing what’s right also a good message to convey when done right. I just hope they make it more internally, not just on a whim, not just because of love or because Gorya is good hence why Thyme must be good enough. I wanna see their strugle to do what’s right, cuz to change yourself after being sackle for so long is HARD.

        Nakatsu is great character πŸ˜‚ love him! I curently watching HanaKimi on viki πŸ‘€

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Oh, it was you 🀣🀣🀣
          I like your interpretation a lot, I keep thinking about it! I really like that this show has a different message, because that means that it isn’t just good because it’s similar to Hana Yori Dango, but because it has its own thoughts and ideas to expore.

          Like

  4. CarpControl

    Hello!
    I’m one of those readers you gained on MDL today! (I go by the name Chibi) ^^
    Can I give a shoutout to the directors who decided to make Gorya a little more subtle & sensible in her crush on Ren, despite sticking to a High-School setting. The absence of a flustered, blubbering mess fueled by teenage-hormones is such a welcome change from the second-hand embarrassment at the earlier versions! Next, Gorya’s rebuttal at Ren’s accusation of poking her nose in unnecessary things, is… *chef’s kiss*. I cannot help but think it was a meta commentary by the directors towards Ren & the whole ‘bullying’ thing, precisely because, just like Mira’s case, he CHOOSES do nothing about it. Which makes him as complicit as the rest (and also a whiny lil’ bitch!) Can you guess it has been a HOT minute since I graduated from my crush over this guy? πŸ˜›
    They surely shattered some glass, like you mentioned earlier! Gorya’s disillusionment might JUST be the key to getting over Ren, unlike her predecessors, who continued to be affected by his presence for far longer than required. Lol. I’m glad homegirl has realized ‘HE AIN’T ALL THAT!’ and How!! Thank heavens for it. His minor inconvenience at being a decent human got him far too much credit than he ever deserved. He ain’t no knight in shining armor, and I’m glad we’re over this.
    I 100% agree with your observation that Mira’s character was always a de-facto 5th member to the f4. The proverbial ‘woman’s touch’. The maternal voice-of-reason. In fact, in many ways, Mira stepped into Tsukasa’s sister’s shoes, after the latter got married and left. I can see why you’d think her character is a massive wasted potential with how she never shows up again… but I’d also like to humbly disagree. Mira leaving was the perfect opening, a void… the perfect empty puzzle piece that needed to be filled in by Tsukushi. She wasn’t just Tsukasa’s +1. All 4 of the quartet gravitated to her as a result of the 5th place being vacated by Mira. In fact, it is Mira’s departure from their lives that sets Tsukushi up as the one to fill her shoes. Aka the starting point of the story. It’s also her earlier absence (HS graduation) that has the f4 wild and prowling the school, unbridled. I don’t see how Mira’s return would fit into the plot, unless to create conflict. In many ways, she is the f4’s past. Tsukushi is their present. No wonder she gets so organically assimilated, and practically adopted by f4. :’) But yeah, Both Mira and Tsukasa’s sister… MAJOR girl-crushes! And serve their purpose as required.

    “Why stand in the rain, looking at a boy who won’t come to you, when you could stand in the rain and look at the boy who waited?” Wow. Can I say this is why I love lit-students and their dissection. HOW did I miss this? πŸ˜› It’s such a brilliant visual analogy. Both Gorya and Thyme; each soaking in the rain and waiting for their respective first loves. Ah. The beautiful parallel! ❀ Mira is to Ren, what Ren is to Gorya, and Gorya is to Thyme. T_T Thank you for the reminder ❀
    I continue to look forward to more of your posts in the future!

    Ps. It never sat right with me that in the earlier version, the profound realization that Rui must chase after Shizuka magically dawns upon him, completely on his own. He had bought his tickets before Tsukushi could egg him on, at the airport. Which seemed like such a pointless sequence of events. Here, however, you can see how her initial comeback after being shoved outside Mira's house was the catalyst to him buying the ticket; how Ren kept re-playing her words while wistfully looking at the paper-plane & finally deciding to put her words into (his) action. I love how they made her SO much more convincing and powerful here, just with a simple re-sequencing. The team really went in with a microscope, dissected the tiniest of details, and stitched it back up to produce something shockingly… even better! ❀
    I apologize for the exceedingly verbose write-up. An essay is what I had not intended, but intellectual writers such as yourself get my juices flowing! πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh hi, Chibi! How nice to see you here! Thank you for your mini essay, I enjoyed it πŸ˜†
      -You captured exactly what I wanted to say about the Hanazawa Rui character, that he gets too much credit for being kinda decent, hahaha! Thanks for pointing out that normally he comes to the decision to follow Mira on his own – that doesn’t actually make much sense, does it? Funny how the smallest changes are enough to make the story come together.
      -I love your analysis of Mira, but like you with me, I’m not sure I agree. There are definitely instances where it feels like the heroine is adopted by the F4 boys (the whole TOJ arc in Hana Yori Dango, and various points in the Korean Boys Over Flowers, especially when Jun-pyo is away) but I wouldn’t say she replaces Shizuka. Aside from being the girl Hanazawa Rui likes, I struggle to see how they function in the same way. I think I would like to see that here, though! Imagine if we got more of Gorya forming friendships with M.J. and Kavin, that would be excellent.
      -The little thing you said about lit students made me laugh out loud! I’m glad I’m representing my people adaquately πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: F4 Thailand: Episode 6 Recap – Crabby For Dramas

Leave a comment